Grid

Friday, March 22nd, 2013

A grid is something that has always seemed like a no-brainer to me in any kind of visual presentation. However, I’ve never thought of it in that way. Just like a book, I expect to see something informational laid out in a cohesive manner so that I can understand what information the visual is supposed to convey. When I am designing something, I can’t help but break up the canvas into sections, essentially a mental grid, though unconscious. The thing that is kind of crazy to me is that a grid, something structured and solid, can be used to make a design that is completely anachronistic and asymmetrical, depending on how you offset the features, or your type, or even by using a different type of grid, such as a circular one. But any successful design by definition is assembled with some kind of relationship (respectful or not) to a grid. 

Leave a comment